Tantur International Advisory Board

International Advisory Board


Our International Advisory Board is comprised of men of women from a diverse backgrounds, nationalities and Christian confessions who are dedicated to vocations and academic fields that are vital components of the theological and academic work of Tantur Ecumenical Institute.  International Advisory Board members work with the rector and   


  • Chair:  John Jenkins, C.S.C., President, University of Notre Dame
  • William Lies, C.S.C., University of Notre Dame
  • Michael Pippenger, University of Notre Dame
  • R. Scott Appleby, University of Notre Dame
  • Tim Matinova, University of Notre Dame
  • Brian J. Daley, SJ, University of Notre Dame
  • Thomas Tweed, University of Notre Dame
  • Rt. Rev. Brian Farrell, LC, Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity
  • Rt. Rev. Jonathan Goodall, Bishop of Ebbsfleet, (Church of England)
  • Paul Meyendorff, St. Vladimir’s Orthodox Theological Seminary
  • Friederike Nussel, Heidelberg University
  • Jorge Scampini, OP, Pontifical Catholic University of Argentina
  • J. Jayakiran Sebastian, Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia
  • Diane Stinton, Regent College
  • Yuri Stoyanov, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
  • Wolfgang Thönissen, Johann-Adam-Möhler-Institut
  • Rt. Rev. John Went, Bishop (emeritus) of Tewkesbury, (Church of England)
  • Myriam Wijlens, University of Erfurt


Retired International Advisory Board Members


  • Dr. J. Matthew Ashley, Department of History, University of Notre Dame.
  • Dr. Peter C. Bouteneff, Association Professor of Systematic Theology, University of Notre Dame.
  • Rev, James D. G. "Jimmy" Dunn, FBA.   "Jimmy" Dunn, as he prefers to be called, received his M.A. and B.D. from the University of Glasgow and his PhD and DD from the University of Cambridge.  He is a Fellow of the British Academy as well as an ordained minister of the Church of Scotland and a Methodist local preacher.   He has published more than two dozen papers and books on subjects ranging from the writings of the Apostle Paul to early Christian beliefs of the Holy Spirit.
  • Rev. Patrick D. Gaffney, C.S.C. Department of Anthropology, University of Notre Dame
  • Rev. John J. Sejdnaj, Vice President for Theology, University of Notre Dame
  • Rev. Richard V. Warner, C.S.C., Superior General of the Congregation of the Holy Land.